British GP: Hamilton claims pole…twice

Lewis Hamilton has improved his chances for making it three wins in a row at the British Grand Prix. His pole-securing lap came after his penultimate pole-securing lap time was eliminated due to exceeding track limits but the 3-time champ fought back in the waning minute of Q3 and secured pole by 0.319s effectively having to set pole twice.

The American broadcast started coverage suggesting that the FIA were to clamp down on any track limit incidents with zero tolerance and when Kimi Raikkonen and Max Verstappen exceeded track limits but weren’t penalized, the NBC Sports crew were slightly confused by that. When Hamilton’s lap was eliminated, the crew were slightly miffed as to why only to reveal during the broadcast that guest steward Nigel Mansell tweeted the details. According to Mansell, pre-race driver instructions were that track limits would be enforced with zero tolerance at Turns 9, 15 and 18 – Copse, Stowe and Club.

Nevertheless, Hamilton’s deleted lap was motivation to do it again and Lewis promptly put in a blinder and took pole. His teammate was also summoned to the FIA for a breach in regulations for exceeding the maximum time between the safety car line after pit exit and the safety car line before pit entry. He was absolved of any penalties.

Red Bull looked good in qualifying besting Ferrari with Max Verstappen also outqualifying team-mate Daniel Ricciardo, for the first time since moving over to the team mid-season, by 0.305s.

Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen topped teammate Sebastian Vettel and the German will start in 11th due to a gearbox-change penalty.

Pos Driver Car Time Gap
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m29.287s
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m29.606s 0.319s
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull/Renault 1m30.313s 1.026s
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1m30.618s 1.331s
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m30.881s 1.594s
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 1m31.557s 2.270s
7 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1m31.989s 2.702s
8 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1m32.172s 2.885s
9 Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda 1m32.343s 3.056s
10 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1m31.875s
11 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1m31.490s
12 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1m32.002s
13 Romain Grosjean Haas/Ferrari 1m32.050s
14 Esteban Gutierrez Haas/Ferrari 1m32.241s
15 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso/Ferrari 1m32.306s
16 Kevin Magnussen Renault 1m37.060s
17 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 1m32.788s
18 Jolyon Palmer Renault 1m32.905s
19 Rio Haryanto Manor/Mercedes 1m33.098s
20 Pascal Wehrlein Manor/Mercedes 1m33.151s
21 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1m33.544s
22 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari