The FIA confirms 20-race calendar

The FIA has confirmed a 20-race Formula 1 calendar for 2017 with a number of important changes to the dates. The dates are as previously published but Brazil is not provisional and will go ahead as normal. The race in Baku seems to be set to become the Azerbaijan Grand Prix, rather than the European GP, which seems a little more sensible. This is being pushed back a week to avoid a clash with the Le Mans 24 Hours, but this means that Austria, Britain and Hungary are all being pushed back a week and will now be on July 9, July 16 and July 30, as there is no German GP on the last of the three dates. This means that teams will once again have to do the troublesome (and expensive) dash from Austria to Silverstone. Malaysia and Singapore have swapped places from the provisional calendar and will now be the same as this year, with the Japanese GP following a week after Malaysia. Mexico has moved forward from November 5 to October 29 and so is again back-to-back with Austin.

The full schedule is: March 26, Australia; April 9, China; April 16, Bahrain; April 30, Russia; May 14, Spain; May 28 Monaco; June 11, Canada; June 25 Azerbaijan; July 9, Austria; July 16, Britain; July 30, Hungary; August 27, Belgium; September 3, Italy; September 17, Singapore; October 1, Malaysia; October 8, Japan; October 22, United States; October 29, Mexico; November 12, Brazil; November 26, Abu Dhabi.